Honorary Life Members

Honorary life membership may be conferred upon individual members of the ISSCT who have distinguished themselves in the sugar cane industry and/or have made an outstanding contribution to the Society over a considerable period of time.

Honorary life members are elected by Council on the recommendation of the Executive, following nomination by their peers. A copy of the Nomination Form which gives also some of the conditions attached, can be accessed on this website.

At the XXXI Congress, Council elected the following ISSCT members as Honorary Life Members for their outstanding service to the Society and the Sugar Cane Industry at large.

  • Dr. Philippe Rott (France)
  • Mr. Ranjit Puri (India)

They have been long serving members of ISSCT and have occupied leading positions in respective disciplines.

The total number of Honorary Life Members is now 25 as follows:

Honorary Life Members
P. G. AllsoppAustralia-2019M. MelgarGuatemala-2010
O. AlmazanCuba-1983P. H. MooreHawaii, USA-2016
L. J. C. AutreyMauritius-2010T. J. MurraySouth Africa-2019
T. G. CleasbySouth Africa-1983R. PuriIndia-2023
J. C. ComstockUSA-2016C. B. RaymondPhilippines-1980
B. T. EganAustralia-1995P. W. ReinUSA-2005
R. M. HadipoeroIndonesia-1992P. RottFrance-2023
S. KartasasmitaIndonesia-1986B. C. RicaudMauritius-2005
M. R. L. V. LealBrazil-2019D. M SawhneyIndia-2001
M. LeopairoteThailand-1992R. J. SteindlAustralia-2016
E. A. L. LincolnFrance-1989J. P. StupielloBrazil-1989
F. A. MartinUSA-2013O. W. SturgessAustralia-1992
V. MasonAustralia-2007
E. V. AbbottUSA-1968D. M. HogarthAustralia-2007
J. R. AllenAustralia-1986E. HugotReunion-1974
R. AntoineMauritius-1983H. W. KerrAustralia-1974
G. ArceneauxUSA-1971N. J. KingAustralia-1971
L. BaissacMauritius-1965B. L. LegendreUSA-2005
M. C. BennettUK-2001C .L. LocsinPhilippines-1968
F. CordovezVenezuela-1989D. LoupeUSA-1986
J. L. ClaytonAustralia-1983G. P. MeadeUSA-1971
H. F. ClementsHawaii, USA-1968H. MorgantiBrazil-1977
H. H. DoddsSouth Africa-1965S. G. PatilIndia-1999
K. Douwes-DekkerSpain-1974J. M. PaturauMauritius-1977
J. L. du ToitSouth Africa-1974C. E. PembertonHawaii, USA-1965
C. W. EdgertonUSA-1965J. SaintUK-1965
S. Flores CaceresMexico-2007K. ShojiHawaii, USA-1989
A. L. ForsUSA-1995D. SmithPuerto Rico-1977
A. G. GallardoMexico-1965G. D. ThompsonSouth Africa-1992
K. GardAustralia-1965A. J. VlitosUK-1986
C. D. GrasslUSA-1977P. O. WieheMauritius-1974
J. E. IrvineUSA-2001