Honorary Life Members
Honorary life membership may be conferred upon individual members of the ISSCT who have distinguished themselves in the sugar cane industry and/or have made an outstanding contribution to the Society over a considerable period of time. They are elected by Council on the recommendation of the Executive, following nomination by their peers. A copy of the Nomination Form which gives also some of the conditions attached, can be accessed on this website.

At the XXIX Congress, Council elected the following ISSCT members as Honorary Life Members for their outstanding service to the Society and the Sugar Cane Industry at large.

Dr. Paul Harris MOORE (Hawaii, USA)
Mr. Roderick John STEINDL (Australia)


They have been long serving members of ISSCT and have occupied leading positions in respective disciplines. The total number of Honorary Life Members is now 24 as follows:

O. Almazan Cuba (1983) F. A. Martin USA (2013)
L. J. C. Autrey Mauritius (2010) V. Mason Australia (2007)
M. C. Bennett UK (2001) M. Melgar Guatemala (2010)
T. G. Cleasby South Africa (1983) P. H. Moore Hawaii, USA (2016)
J. C. Comstock USA (2016) S. G. Patil India (1999)
B. T. Egan Australia (1995) C. B. Raymond Philippines (1980)
R. M. Hadipoero Indonesia (1992) P. W. Rein USA (2005)
S. Kartasasmita Indonesia (1986) B. C. Ricaud Mauritius (2005)
B. L. Legendre USA (2005) D. M Sawhney India (2001)
M. Leopairote Thailand (1992) R. J. Steindl Australia (2016)
E. A. L. Lincoln France (1989) J. P. Stupiello Brazil (1989)
D. T. Loupe USA (1986) O. W. Sturgess Australia (1992)


E. V. Abbott USA (1968) J. E. Irvine USA (2001)
J. R. Allen Australia (1986) D. M. Hogarth Australia (2007)
R. Antoine Mauritius (1983) E. Hugot Reunion (1974)
G. Arceneaux USA (1971) H. W. Kerr Australia (1974)
L. Baissac Mauritius (1965) N. J. King Australia (1971)
F. Cordovez Venezuela (1989) C .L. Locsin Philippines (1968)
J. L. Clayton Australia (1983) G. P. Meade USA (1971)
H. F. Clements Hawaii, USA (1968) H. Morganti Brazil (1977)
H. H. Dodds South Africa (1965) J. M. Paturau Mauritius (1977)
K. Douwes-Dekker Spain (1974) C. E. Pemberton Hawaii, USA (1965)
J. L. du Toit South Africa (1974) J. Saint UK (1965)
C. W. Edgerton USA (1965) K. Shoji Hawaii, USA (1989)
S. Flores Caceres Mexico (2007) D. Smith Puerto Rico (1977)
A. L. Fors USA (1995) G. D. Thompson South Africa (1992)
A. G. Gallardo Mexico (1965) A. J. Vlitos UK (1986)
K. Gard Australia (1965) P. O. Wiehe Mauritius (1974)
C. D. Grassl USA (1977)